WinPatrol: Scheduled Tasks Monitor

One of the standard features in Microsoft Windows is the ability to schedule programs or tasks to run automatically at pre-defined dates and times. The Task Scheduler is often used to schedule disk management tasks by Microsoft or to schedule other services provided by computer manufacturers. To schedule tasks, go to the Control Panel and launch the Scheduled Tasks applet.

While you may not find anything listed in the Scheduled Tasks list, Scotty the Watch Dog will keep an eye on the Task Scheduler to make sure that no new programs are scheduled to run without your knowledge.

Managing Scheduled Tasks

If at some time a new task is scheduled Scotty will alert you of the change. If you've scheduled the task yourself, then just let Scotty know it's ok by clicking "Yes" to keep the scheduled task. If you didn't create the task, you can click "No" to remove it. You can also allow the task to be scheduled and then use the Info... button to learn more.

In some versions of Windows you may see the Task Scheduler icon appear in the task bar when Scotty is getting a list of scheduled programs. This just indicates that Windows Task Scheduler is active. It will disappear the next time you move the mouse over the task bar.

This button provides more information about the selected task, including the company responsible for the scheduled program and the version. 

As it is often difficult to tell just from a file name or company name whether a scheduled task or program is legitimate, you can click the Free Info... button to review a list of common, well-known malicious programs on the WinPatrol web site. PLUS members can click the PLUS Info... button to search the online WinPatrol database for more information on the specific service program itself.

Removing a task will not delete any files on your hard drive. It will just remove the scheduled task from the Windows Scheduler so that it doesn't automatically run in the future.

To close or Exit the WinPatrol tab interface click the X in the upper right hand corner or the Close button. WinPatrol will continue monitor changes but the main interface will be removed from memory.

More WinPatrol Features